Additional actions:

Thumbnail
When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese. / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese
mediaName BOOK | Random House | [2016] | First edition.
Not Available at BonAir (DUE 07-27-17)
close only show available only show available only show available only show available
see all

Items

Location Call No. Status
BonAir B KALANITHI DUE 07-27-17
BonAir B KALANITHI DUE 08-11-17
Chester B KALANITHI DUE 08-07-17
CloverHill B KALANITHI DUE 08-16-17
CloverHill B KALANITHI DUE 08-21-17
Enon B KALANITHI DUE 08-14-17
Ettrick-Matoaca B KALANITHI DUE 08-17-17
LaPrade B KALANITHI DUE 08-14-17
Meadowdale B KALANITHI DUE 08-09-17
Midlothian B KALANITHI DUE 08-15-17
Midlothian B KALANITHI DUE 08-02-17
North Courthouse B KALANITHI DUE 08-08-17
North Courthouse B KALANITHI DUE 08-07-17
North Courthouse B KALANITHI ON HOLDSHELF
North Courthouse B KALANITHI DUE 08-19-17
North Courthouse B KALANITHI DUE 08-09-17
‚Äč Show fewer items
Drop Up Shadow

More Details

Call #
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
xix, 228 pages ; 20 cm.
text rdacontent.
unmediated rdamedia.
volume rdacarrier.
Summary
"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away?."--Ann Patchett"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
ISBN/ISSN
9780812988406
Extras
NoveList Results
Browse Results
View in classic catalog View in classic catalog View MARC display View MARC display
Back to top