Results for Comic books, strips, etc. Authorship.
Database: NoveList Plus
Databases:
NoveList Plus
Full Text
Peer Reviewed
MasterFILE Complete
Kids InfoBits
EBSCO eBook History Collection
EBSCO Read It!
Catalog Results:
Call #
GN YA 305.906912 H
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
227 pages : chiefly color illustrations ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
still image sti rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
"A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.
Subject
Genre
ISBN/ISSN
9780062685094 (paperback)
0062685090 (paperback)
9780062685100 (hardcover)
0062685104 (hardcover)
Call #
B LEE
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
viii, 390 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 25 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
"The definitive biography of the beloved-often controversial-co-creator of many legendary superheroes, A Marvelous Life: The Amazing Story of Stan Lee presents the origin of "Stan the Man," who spun a storytelling web of comic book heroic adventures into a pop culture phenomenon: the Marvel Universe. Stan Lee was the most famous American comic book creator who ever lived. Thanks, especially, to his many cameos in Marvel movies and TV shows, Lee was-and even after his 2018 death, still is-the voice and face of comics and popular culture in general, and Marvel Comics in particular. How he got to that place is a story that has never been fully told-until now. With creative partners including Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko-with whom he had tempestuous relationships that rivaled any superhero battle-Lee created world-famous characters including Spider-Man, Iron Man, the X-Men, the Avengers, and the Hulk! But Lee's career was haunted by conflict and controversy. Was he the most innovative creator to ever do comics? Was he a lucky no-talent whose only skill was taking credit for others' work? Or was he something else altogether? Danny Fingeroth's A Marvelous Life: The Amazing Story of Stan Lee attempts to answer some of those questions. It is the first comprehensive biography of this powerhouse of ideas who, with his invention of Marvel Comics, changed the world's ideas of what a hero is and how a story should be told. With exclusive interviews with Lee himself, as well as with colleagues, relatives, friends-and detractors-Fingeroth makes a doubly remarkable case for Lee's achievements, while not ignoring the controversies that dogged him his entire life-and even past his death. With unique access to Lee's personal archives at the University of Wyoming, Fingeroth explores never-before-examined aspects of Lee's life and career, and digs under the surface of what people thought they knew about him. Fingeroth, himself a longtime writer and editor at Marvel Comics, and now a lauded pop culture critic and historian, knew and worked with Stan Lee for over four decades. With his unique insights as a comics world insider, Fingeroth is able to put Lee's life and work in a unique context that makes events and actions come to life as no other writer could. Despite F. Scott Fitzgerald's famous warning that "There are no second acts in American lives," Stan Lee created a second act for himself that changed everything for him, his family, his industry, and ultimately for all of popular culture. How he did it-and what it cost him-is a larger-than-life tale of a man who helped create the modern superhero mythology that has become a part of all our lives"-- Provided by publisher.
Bibliog.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 365-381) and index.
Subject
Title
Amazing story of Stan Lee
ISBN/ISSN
9781250133908 (hardcover)
Call #
J 741.51 S
Descript.
32 pages : color illustrations ; 21 cm.
text txt rdacontent
still image sti rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Series
Summary
"Learn about makerspaces with Make It Yourself! Comics & Graphic Novels! Young makers will discover what makerspaces are and how to hold maker events. Kids will develop characters, write stories, create graphic novels, and more. Each project has color photos and easy-to-follow instructions. Special techniques and tips help kids make the most of their makerspace experiences. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards."--Publisher's website.
Contents
What's a makerspace? -- Fun with comics & graphic novels -- Comic & graphic novel tips -- Supplies -- Comic & graphic novel techniques -- Comic character collector cards -- Hand-lettered promo poster -- Cut-an-invite -- Graphic novel folder -- Story panel design -- Splash! Zing! Pow! -- Mini comic time! -- Plan a maker event! -- Glossary.
Note
Includes index.
Subject
Title
Comics & graphic novels
ISBN/ISSN
9781532110696 (lib. bdg.)
1532110693 (lib. bdg.)
Related Searches:
Loading Tags...

Loading This page is loading...

Back to top