Results for Epistolary fiction.
Database: NoveList Plus
Databases:
NoveList Plus
Full Text
Peer Reviewed
MasterFILE Complete
Kids InfoBits
EBSCO eBook History Collection
EBSCO Read It!
Catalog Results:
Call #
FIC DES
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
519 pages ; 21 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
In the tumultuous summer of 1974, in the shadowy rooms of a rundown mansion in Rhode Island, renowned psychologist Dr. Piers Preis-Herald brings together a group of seven collegiate researchers to study the inner lives of man's closest relative--the primate. They set out to teach their subject, who would eventually be known to the world as Smithy, American Sign Language. But as the summer deepens and the history of the mansion manifests, the messages signed by their research subject become increasing spectral. Nearly twenty-five years after the Smithy Project ended in tragedy at Trevor Hall, questions remain: Was Smithy a hoax? A clever mimic? A Rorschach projection of humanity's greatest hopes and fears? Or was he indeed what devotees of metaphysics have claimed for so long: a link between our world and the next?
Subject
Genre
ISBN/ISSN
9781950301218 (softcover)
1950301214 (softcover)
Call #
FIC BON
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Descript.
274 pages ; 22 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Note
Translation of: Chambre 128.
Originally published in France in 2019 under the title Chambre 128 by Editions de la Martinière Littérature.
Summary
"Cathy Bonidan's The Lost Manuscript is a charming epistolary novel about the love of books and magical ability they have to bring people together. Sometimes a book has the power to change your life... When Anne-Lise Briard books a room at the Beau Rivage Hotel for her vacation on the Brittany coast, she has no idea this trip will start her on the path to unearthing a mystery. In search of something to read, she opens up her bedside table drawer in her hotel room, and inside she finds an abandoned manuscript. Halfway through the pages, an address is written. She sends pages to the address, in hopes of potentially hearing a response from the unknown author. But not before she reads the story and falls in love with it. The response, which she receives a few days later, astonishes her... Not only does the author write back, but he confesses that he lost the manuscript 30 years prior on a flight to Montreal. And then he reveals something even more shocking--that he was not the author of the second half of the book. Anne-Lise can't rest until she discovers who this second mystery author is, and in doing so tracks down every person who has held this manuscript in their hands. Through the letters exchanged by the people whose lives the manuscript has touched, she discovers long-lost love stories and intimate secrets. Romances blossom and new friends are made. Everyone's lives are made better by this book--and isn't that the point of reading? And finally, with a plot twist you don't see coming, she uncovers the astonishing identity of the author who finished the story"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
Genre
Alt Author
Ramadan, Emma, translator.
ISBN/ISSN
9781250256300 (hardcover)
Call #
J FIC GRE
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
187 pages : illustrations ; 19 cm.
still image sti rdacontent
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Series
Summary
With a Valentine's Day dance, snooping parents, and way too many secrets, these four BFFs have a lot to deal with in the seventh book in this hilarious series told entirely in text messages, emojis, and passed notes, perfect for fans of Invisible Emmie and the Dork Diaries series. It's no secret that Victoria's mom can be OTT overprotective! But lately her anxiety has been too much to handle. So even though Victoria is helping plan the school's Valentine's Day dance, she might not be allowed to go! To be honest, she's going to need lots of help from her BFFs to mend this mother-daughter relationship--and it may mean sharing her most embarrassing secret ever! The question is: Can you take back a secret once you've shared it?
Audience
Ages 8-12.
Subject
Genre
Title
To be honest, no one can EVER know
ISBN/ISSN
9780062991812 (hardcover)
0062991817 (hardcover)
Related Searches:
Loading
Loading Tags...

Loading This page is loading...

Back to top