Results for LGBTQIA+.
Database: NoveList Plus
Databases:
NoveList Plus
Full Text
Peer Reviewed
MasterFILE Complete
Kids InfoBits
EBSCO eBook History Collection
EBSCO Read It!
Catalog Results:
Descript.
1 online resource
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
Summary
*"[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction." — Booklist (starred review) From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a "hidden figure" in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown. On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers, made history without even swinging a bat. When his teammate Dusty Baker hit a historic home run, Glenn enthusiastically congratulated him with the first ever high five. But Glenn also made history in another way—he was the first openly gay MLB player. While he did not come out publicly until after his playing days were over, Glenn's sexuality was known to his teammates, family, and friends. His MLB career would be cut short after only three years, but his legacy and impact on the athletic and LGBTQIA+ community would resonate for years to come. New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss tells the story of Glenn Burke: from his childhood growing up in Oakland, his journey to the MLB and the World Series, the joy in discovering who he really was, to more difficult times: facing injury, addiction, and the AIDS epidemic. Packed with black-and-white photographs and thoroughly researched, never-before-seen details about Glenn's life, Singled Out is the fascinating story of a trailblazer in sports—and the history and culture that shaped the world around him.
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. New York : Philomel Books, 2021. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 36474 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject
Genre
ISBN/ISSN
9780593116739 (electronic bk)
Call #
FIC SAL
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
278 pages ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
"It's just weeks after the historic Supreme Court marriage equality ruling, and all Sebastian Mote wants is to settle down. A high school art history teacher, newly single and desperately lonely, he envies his queer students their freedom to live openly the youth he lost to fear and shame. So when he runs into his childhood friend Oscar Burnham at a wedding in Washington, D.C., he can't help but see it as a second chance. Now thirty-five, the men haven't seen each other in a decade. But Oscar has no interest in their shared history. Instead, he's outraged by what he sees as the death of gay culture: bars overrun with bachelorette parties; friends getting married, having babies. While Oscar and Sebastian struggle to find their place in a rapidly changing world, each is drawn into a cross-generational friendship that treads the line between envy and obsession: Sebastian with one of his students and Oscar with an older icon of the AIDS era. And as they collide again and again, both men must come to reckon not just with one another, but with themselves."--Provided by publisher.
Subject
Local Subj
Title
Let us get back to the party
ISBN/ISSN
9781616209575 (hardcover)
1616209577 (hardcover)
Call #
YA FIC MCL
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
311 pages ; 22 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
After Ciela and Lock are sexually assaulted at the same party, they develop a cautious friendship through her family's possibly-magical pastelerĂ­a and his secret forest of otherworldly trees.
Audience
Grades 10-12. Feiwel & Friends.
Ages 13-18. Feiwel & Friends.
Subject
Genre
Local Subj
ISBN/ISSN
9781250624123 (hardcover)
1250624126 (hardcover)
Related Searches:
Loading Tags...

Loading This page is loading...

Back to top