Untitled Document

***Announcement: Items checked out now check out on a regular checkout cycle. You may check out more than 30 items. There is a limit of 15 holds per account. We are now accepting returns every day. For assistance, please call 804-751-CCPL. Visit CCPL-COVID-19-Response for more information.

Results for Mi©♭ville, China.
Database: NoveList Plus
Databases:
NoveList Plus
Full Text
Peer Reviewed
MasterFILE Complete
Kids InfoBits
EBSCO eBook History Collection
EBSCO Read It!
Catalog Results:
Descript.
1 online resource
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
Summary
For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.Praise for This Census-Taker"China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it's like he's writing with diamonds."—NPR "The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision."—Los Angeles Review of Books "[Mieville's] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so."—The Huffington Post "Marvellous."—The Guardian "Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream."—Financial Times "A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser."—Booklist "Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul."—Kirkus Reviews
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. New York : Del Rey, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4194 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject
Genre
ISBN/ISSN
9781101967331 (electronic bk)
Edition
Unabridged.
Descript.
1 online resource (8 audio files) : digital
Time
09:55:56
Descript.
spoken word spw rdacontent
audio s rdamedia
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
audio file rda
Note
Unabridged.
Performer
Narrator: Jonathan Cowley.
Summary
On board the moletrain Medes, Sham Yes ap Soorap watches in awe as he witnesses his first moldywarpe hunt: the giant mole bursting from the earth, the harpoonists targeting their prey, the battle resulting in one's death and the other's glory. But no matter how spectacular it is, Sham can't shake the sense that there is more to life than traveling the endless rails of the railsea--even if his captain can think only of the hunt for the ivory-coloured mole she's been chasing since it took her arm all those years ago. When they come across a wrecked train, at first it's a welcome distraction. But what Sham finds in the derelict--a series of pictures hinting at something, somewhere, that should be impossible--leads to considerably more than he'd bargained for. Soon he's hunted on all sides, by pirates, trainsfolk, monsters and salvage-scrabblers. And it might not be just Sham's life that's about to change. It could be the whole of the railsea. From China Miéville comes a novel for readers of all ages, a gripping and brilliantly imagined take on Herman Melville's Moby-Dick that confirms his status as "the most original and talented voice to appear in several years." (Science Fiction Chronicle)From the Hardcover edition.
System Det
Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 279833 KB).
Subject
Genre
Alt Author
Cowley, Jonathan.
ISBN/ISSN
9780307967374 (sound recording)
Descript.
1 online resource
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
Summary
"Other names besides [Herman] Melville's will surely come to mind as you read this thrilling tale—there's Dune's Frank Herbert. . . . But in this, as in all of his works, Miéville has that special knack for evoking other writers even while making the story wholly his own."—Los Angeles Times On board the moletrain Medes, Sham Yes ap Soorap watches in awe as he witnesses his first moldywarpe hunt: the giant mole bursting from the earth, the harpoonists targeting their prey, the battle resulting in one's death & the other's glory. Spectacular as it is, Sham can't shake the sense that there is more to life than the endless rails of the railsea—even if his captain thinks only of hunting the ivory-colored mole that took her arm years ago. But when they come across a wrecked train, Sham finds something—a series of pictures hinting at something, somewhere, that should be impossible—that leads to considerably more than he'd bargained for. Soon he's hunted on all sides, by pirates, trainsfolk, monsters & salvage-scrabblers. & it might not be just Sham's life that's about to change. It could be the whole of the railsea. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "[Miéville] gives all readers a lot to dig into here, be it emotional drama, Godzilla-esque monster carnage, or the high adventure that comes only with riding the rails."—USA Today "Superb . . . massively imaginative."—Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Riveting . . . a great adventure."—NPR "Wildly inventive . . . Every sentence is packed with wit."—The Guardian (London)
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. New York : Del Rey, 2012. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4370 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject
Genre
ISBN/ISSN
9780345524546 (electronic bk)
Related Searches:
Loading Tags...

Loading This page is loading...

Back to top