Untitled Document

***Announcement: Items checked out now check out on a regular checkout cycle. You may check out more than 30 items. There is a limit of 15 holds per account. We are now accepting returns every day. For assistance, please call 804-751-CCPL. Visit CCPL-COVID-19-Response for more information.

Results for New York (N.Y.) Fiction.
Database: NoveList Plus
Databases:
NoveList Plus
Full Text
Peer Reviewed
MasterFILE Complete
Kids InfoBits
EBSCO eBook History Collection
EBSCO Read It!
Catalog Results:
Call #
CD FIC STA
Edition
Unabridged.
Descript.
7 audio discs (approximately 480 min.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Time
080000
Descript.
spoken word spw rdacontent
audio s rdamedia
audio disc sd rdacarrier
digital rdatr
optical rdarm
audio file rdaft
CD audio
Note
Repackaged by Midwest Tape.
Title from web page.
Performer
Read by Emily Tremaine.
Note
Compact discs.
Summary
New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her. With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan. When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness.
Subject
Genre
Alt Author
Tremaine, Emily.
ISBN/ISSN
9781797120454
09781797120454
Call #
FIC STA
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Descript.
x, 258 pages ; 22 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
"New York's last bohemia-the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s-is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith. New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her. With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan. When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness. She may have a chance to save herself-and Carmen, if she can find her-but to do it she must face what's hiding in the shadows she's been running from-within her heart and in the dangerous midnight streets. A love letter to gritty 1980s New York City, Astrid Sees All is an irresistible, original novel about female friendship, sex and romance, and what it's like to be a young woman searching for an identity"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
Genre
ISBN/ISSN
9781982153656 (hardcover)
1982153652 (hardcover)
Call #
FIC HOL
Descript.
215 pages ; 23 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Contents
INCIDENT -- My Baby Gone? -- THE WAR YEARS and A RENAISSANCE -- Your Money or Your Life -- Just Us Women -- Peculiar Since Day One -- From Peril to Promise -- Selma Althea Mosby -- A GREAT DEPRESSION -- (No) Credit to the Race -- Tell Me -- Kin -- The Words to Say It -- Just Prudent -- Far to Go -- Marks Like a Map -- Where You Been? -- A Wild Tangle -- The Web She Offered -- Home Training -- Women's Work -- Quem Quaeritis? -- All the Dark Things -- How We Doin? -- The Kidnap Book -- Let the Dead Bury Their Dead -- How Long You Got? -- A Common Denominator -- Some Things Stay -- A Ways and a Means.
Summary
"A kidnapping tests the mettle, resourcefulness, and intuition of Harlem's first "colored" policeman in this mystery, set during New York's Harlem Renaissance. The story references the infamous Lindbergh baby kidnapping"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
ISBN/ISSN
9780810143531 (pbk.)
0810143534 (pbk.)
Related Searches:
Loading Tags...

Loading This page is loading...

Back to top