Results for Periodical editors United States Biography.
Database: NoveList Plus
Databases:
NoveList Plus
Full Text
Peer Reviewed
MasterFILE Complete
Kids InfoBits
EBSCO eBook History Collection
EBSCO Read It!
Catalog Results:
Call #
CD B MILLER
Edition
Unabridged.
Descript.
10 audio discs (approximately 11 hrs. 45 min.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Time
114500
Descript.
spoken word spw rdacontent
audio s rdamedia
audio disc sd rdacarrier
digital rdatr
audio file rdaft
CD audio
Note
Repackaged by Midwest Tape.
Title from container.
Compact discs.
Performer
Read by Cassandra Campbell.
Summary
At twenty-two, a naïve Midwesterner, Adrienne Miller got a lucky break when she was hired as an editorial assistant at GQ. The mid-nineties were still the golden age of print journalism, and a publication like GQ then seemed the red-hot center of the literary world, even if their sensibilities were manifestly mid-century...the martinis, the male egos, and the unquestioned authority of kings. Still, Adrienne learned to hold her own in a man's world, and three years later she forged her own path, becoming the first woman to hold the role of literary editor at Esquire. She was at Esquire during a unique moment in history that simultaneously saw the last days of the old guard of literary titans, and the rise of a new movement, as exemplified by David Foster Wallace, who would become her closest friend, confidant...and antagonist. Here is the untold story of an intellectual and artistic exchange that grew into a highly charged relationship, and Miller presents a candid portrait of the mercurial man behind the spotlight. It is also an account of the guarded literary world, which asks the question: How does a young woman fit into this culture and at what cost? With wit and deep intelligence, Miller presents a moving portrayal of a young woman's education in a land of men.
Subject
Genre
Alt Author
Campbell, Cassandra, narrator.
ISBN/ISSN
9780062958143
09780062958143
Call #
B MILLER
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
ix, 340 pages ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
"At twenty-two, a naïve Midwesterner, Adrienne Miller got a lucky break when she was hired as an editorial assistant at GQ. The mid-nineties were still the golden age of print journalism, and a publication like GQ then seemed the red-hot center of the literary world, even if their sensibilities were manifestly mid-century...the martinis, the male egos, and the unquestioned authority of kings. Still, Adrienne learned to hold her own in a man's world, and three years later she forged her own path, becoming the first woman to hold the role of literary editor at Esquire. She was at Esquire during a unique moment in history that simultaneously saw the last days of the old guard of literary titans, and the rise of a new movement, as exemplified by David Foster Wallace, who would become her closest friend, confidant...and antagonist. Here is the untold story of an intellectual and artistic exchange that grew into a highly charged relationship, and Miller presents a candid portrait of the mercurial man behind the spotlight. It is also an account of the guarded literary world, which asks the question: How does a young woman fit into this culture and at what cost? With wit and deep intelligence, Miller presents a moving portrayal of a young woman's education in a land of men."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
ISBN/ISSN
9780062682413 (hardcover)
0062682415 (hardcover)
Call #
B PERES
Edition
First edition.
Descript.
viii, 236 pages ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary
In the vein of Mary Karr's Lit, Augusten Burroughs' Dry and Sarah Hepola's Blackout, As Needed for Pain is a raw and riveting--and often wryly funny--addiction memoir from one of New York media's most accomplished editors which explores his never-before-told story of opioid addiction and the drastic impact it had on his life and career--Jacket.
Subject
Title
Memoir of addiction
ISBN/ISSN
9780062693464
0062693468
Related Searches:
Loading Tags...

Loading This page is loading...

Back to top