Thumbnail
The Jane Austen society [compact disc] : a novel / Natalie Jenner
AUDIOBOOK | Macmillan Audio | [2020] | Unabridged.
Available at Clover Hill Bk on CD (CD FIC JEN)

Additional actions:

close

more

close
see all

Items

Location Call No. NOTE Status
Clover Hill Bk on CD CD FIC JEN AVAILABLE
Show fewer items

More Details

Call #
Edition
Unabridged.
Descript.
8 audio discs (9.92 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
spoken word spw rdacontent
audio s rdamedia
audio disc sd rdacarrier
digital rdatr
optical rdarm
audio file rdaft
CD audio
Note
Repackaged by Midwest Tape.
Title from web page.
Performer
Read by Richard Armitage.
Note
Compact discs.
Summary
""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject
Genre
Alt Author
Armitage, Richard, 1971-
ISBN/ISSN
9781250752192
09781250752192
Extras
NoveList Results
Browse Results
View in classic catalog View MARC display
Popular Choices:
Loading Suggestions...
Back to top