Untitled Document

***Announcement: Items checked out now check out on a regular checkout cycle. You may check out more than 30 items. There is a limit of 15 holds per account. We are now accepting returns every day. For assistance, please call 804-751-CCPL. Visit CCPL-COVID-19-Response for more information.

Thumbnail
The black kids [electronic resource] / Christina Hammonds Reed
DIGITAL AUDIOBOOK | Simon & Schuster Audio | 2020. | Unabridged.

Additional actions:

More Details

Edition
Unabridged.
Descript.
1 online resource (8 audio files) : digital
Time
08:55:35
Descript.
spoken word spw rdacontent
audio s rdamedia
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
audio file rda
Note
Unabridged.
Performer
Narrator: Kiersey Clemons.
Summary
"Should be required reading in every classroom." —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin "A true love letter to Los Angeles." —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion "A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history." —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday's Not Coming Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give , this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots. Los Angeles, 1992 Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It's the end of senior year and they're spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley's not just one of the girls. She's one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us ? And who is the them ?
System Det
Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 251084 KB).
Subject
Genre
Alt Author
Clemons, Kiersey.
ISBN/ISSN
9781797112213 (sound recording)
Extras
NoveList Results
Browse Results
View in classic catalog View MARC display
Popular Choices:
Loading Suggestions...
Back to top